3
\$\begingroup\$

The Adventurer's Vault states that the spiked shield:

can be enchanted as a magic shield or a magic weapon, but not both. A spiked shield enchanted as a magical weapon does not occupy a character's magic item arms slot. (pg.10)

This is unclear about whether it also takes up a "weapons" slot.

Could I wield an enchanted spiked shield on one arm and hold a magical weapon in the respective hand? I'm aware I couldn't attack with the weapon, but it may be useful for its property.

E.g. would a character wearing a rhythm blade spiked shield and holding a quicksilver dagger on the same limb benefit from both their respective properties?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ is the shield a buckler? \$\endgroup\$ – Cataru Moore Apr 15 '15 at 22:22
  • \$\begingroup\$ I asked a question about needing to wield or just hold magical weapons in general. \$\endgroup\$ – DCShannon Apr 17 '15 at 1:36
6
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, it takes up that hand's weapon slot (because it already did).

Basically, you can either have an enchanted shield or an enchanted arm slot item. You can also have a weapon in each hand.

You can't wield another item in that hand (you can hold an item, but not wield it). Thus you can't otherwise wield a magic weapon in that hand so you've got that.

The only thing this rule does is allow for a magic arm slot item when you otherwise would not be able to have one (because you're wearing a magic shield).

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ To clarify, items held in your hands usually do not take up your arms slot; Your arms slot is more for bracers and stuff like that. I suspect the reason for pointing out that magical shields don't take up an arms slot is because shields are strapped to your arm and some players might wonder about it. \$\endgroup\$ – GMJoe Apr 16 '15 at 0:50
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @GMJoe not quite. Magical shields normally take up your arm slot. If this shield is enchanted as a weapon, it doesn't \$\endgroup\$ – wax eagle Apr 16 '15 at 0:51
  • \$\begingroup\$ Gah, you're right - I should've proofread and fact-checked. \$\endgroup\$ – GMJoe Apr 16 '15 at 1:17
  • \$\begingroup\$ Thanks! If I can't wield a weapon, would an implement work for granting a property? E.g., rhythm blade spiked shield, bracers of mighty striking, rod of corruption. Also - can I use the power of an item that I'm holding, but not wielding? Bradaman's weapon, for example. \$\endgroup\$ – Selekate Apr 16 '15 at 21:09
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @selekate I'd have to check the wording, but probably not. Most things usually say "wield" rather than "hold". That said you can use your other hand to wield another weapon. \$\endgroup\$ – wax eagle Apr 16 '15 at 21:16

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.