8
\$\begingroup\$

I have a player who was previously mundane and just became infected with vampirism. The character now has a Magic attribute of 1, and they want to learn spellcasting and spells. Part of me thinks that this should not be allowed, but I'm not sure if I'm right.

Since the character now has a Magic attribute, can they cast spells? If they can or can't, a rules reference would be helpful so that I have a evidence if I have to break their heart.

\$\endgroup\$
8
\$\begingroup\$

They gain only limited magical abilities:

Run Faster, p. 141, emphasis mine:

All Infected are dual natured and may freely learn the Assensing and Astral Combat skills. Unless they’re magically active, however, they cannot learn or use skills linked to the Magic attribute. Neither can they astrally project, bond foci, or initiate. An exception to this is given by the Magical Guard power, which enables the Infected character who has it to learn the Counterspelling skill.

(Magical guard is described in Street Grimoire (power description) and Run Faster (Karma cost))

Since you can't default magic skills, that means no spells for the wicked infected.

So the character gains the ability to astraly preceive, can learn to interpret his/her observations and defend him/herself against attackers from the astral plane and could learn to counterspell, if (s)he takes the appropriate positive quality, but can't learn to cast spells or rituals or summon spirits and can't even use a weapon focus.

\$\endgroup\$
0
\$\begingroup\$

Yes. As stated in the p.142 of the core rulebook, emphasis mine:

Magical skills

Magic skills are reserved for those who practice magic. In order to acquire magic-specific skills, characters must have a quality that provides a Magic rating. In order to use these skills, that Magic rating must be 1 or higher. Please visit Magic, p. 276, for all your Magical skill-using needs.

And the spellcasting skill, which is required to cast spells, is into this category, and all the others of course, so yes but he now needs to start buying this skills and spells with karma

This is based only on the core rulebook as it seems that other suplements may treat about this specifically.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ I think this general rule is overridden by the specific rule found by Fabien. \$\endgroup\$ – Pureferret Apr 17 '15 at 11:11
  • \$\begingroup\$ Maybe, I only have Core Rulebook, answered from that perspective =( \$\endgroup\$ – Corven Dallas Apr 17 '15 at 11:17
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ However I don't like to limit characters, a character that starts as a commoner and gains his magic through play is a cool idea. Life is what happens while you plan doing other things, so it could be an unexpected turn in his life! \$\endgroup\$ – Corven Dallas Apr 17 '15 at 11:20
  • \$\begingroup\$ Both valid points. If you like to play it that way, there's nothing wrong with it, just pointing it out to anyone who gets confused between the two conflicting answers. \$\endgroup\$ – Pureferret Apr 17 '15 at 11:43
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ @CorvenDallas I suggest you edit your answer to make it clear that this is based on core-only, and to include your reasoning for preferring this over the more specific rule found by fabian. \$\endgroup\$ – KRyan Apr 17 '15 at 12:06

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.