6
\$\begingroup\$

The Magic Stone cantrip (PotA p.238/EEPC p.20) says:

You touch one to three pebbles and imbue them with magic. You or someone else can make a ranged spell attack with one of the pebbles by throwing it or hurling it with a sling. If thrown, it has a range of 60 feet.

If sling is used to launch one of the pebbles, is the range 30/120, or just 120?

\$\endgroup\$
15
\$\begingroup\$

As nothing special is indicated for hurling the bullet with a sling, the normal rules for sling range apply: 30/120.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
0
\$\begingroup\$

120 feet (probably)

D&D 5e has two different kinds of range. Weapon range (expressed as short range/maximum range - PHB 147), and spell range (expressed as a single value - PHB 202-203 and in spell descriptions).

A thrown stone, as an improvised weapon (PHB 147-148) has the weapon range of 20/60.

A Magic Stone, as per the spell's description has a spell range of 60 feet. So we can infer that the spell range of a thrown Magic Stone equals the maximum range of a normal thrown stone.

If we extend this to using the Magic Stone as ammunition for a sling, it would seem reasonable to apply the same principle, and say that the sling stone's maximum range of 120 feet is the spell range of a Magic Stone thrown from a sling.

I say probably as this is an extension of the principles of the RAW, but as far as I know this principle is not spelled out in the currently-published rules.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ I marked the 30/120 answer as accepted since this was tagged as a rules-as-written question, but I completely agree with your appeal to consistency. It'd be 120 at my table. \$\endgroup\$ – Sebkha Apr 20 '15 at 2:40
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ I'd probably houserule it this way, too. If hurled by a sling, it should not be worse than thrown by hand. \$\endgroup\$ – nvoigt Apr 20 '15 at 4:30
  • \$\begingroup\$ Sebkha and @nvoigt - good to know. I realised I was being a bit more creative than RAW often allow, though looking at the definition on rpg.se I'm not sure if I've actually missed the mark, as the tag definition is "Interpretations and applications of rules that only take into consideration specifically what published game material states," and what I tried to do here was interpret and apply the published rules. I suppose the limits of interpretation and application are also subject to interpretation :-) \$\endgroup\$ – harlandski Apr 20 '15 at 5:05

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.