6
\$\begingroup\$

PHB p164 states:

If you already have the Unarmored Defense feature, you can't gain it again from another class.

So if I start as a Monk and gain the UD(Wis) feature, and then at next level up, take a level in Barbarian, can I switch to the alternate UD(Con)? Or am I stuck with UD(Wis), even if I take 19 levels in Barbarian?

I'm unclear if the rule is stating this or stating that you can't use both at the same time, which I know.

\$\endgroup\$
14
\$\begingroup\$

You've already quoted the relevant part:

you can't gain it again from another class.

Meaning that you can't switch to an alternate because you don't have the alternate to begin with.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.