2
\$\begingroup\$

The magus's spell combat says, "This functions much like two-weapon fighting, but the off-hand weapon is a spell that is being cast."

When a magus delivers a touch spell as a free action using spellstrike while employing a weapon, is his extra damage from his Strength bonus halved and his bonus damage from the feat Power Attack as per an off-hand weapon?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to the site. Take the tour. I edited your question to make it a bit clearer; if it doesn't hit all the points you want it to, you can still edit it yourself or revert it to its previous state. I took out the information about the GM—if there's a serious GM issue, that issue should probably be the topic of another, separate question. Thanks for helping strangers. \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Apr 20 '15 at 14:49
2
\$\begingroup\$

No, you're delivering the spell through your weapon that is in your main hand. That language you're reading is to clarify that "you're using your offhand to cast a spell so you can't be holding anything else in it". So you get none of the penalties you're specifically asking about.

If there's anything about the magus still confusing you I highly recommend that you read both walter's guide to the magus and this guide on the paizo rules forums (the latter specifically covers the intricacies of magus spell casting/fighting)

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ It’s worth mentioning that even if you are using two-weapon fighting, your main hand weapon still gets full Str (assuming it’s one-handed) and Power Attack; only the off-hand weapon gets reduced Power Attack (and Str for being light). The offhand casts the spell, but the main hand is wielding the weapon, and delivers the attack. \$\endgroup\$ – KRyan Apr 20 '15 at 14:55
  • \$\begingroup\$ That's definitely important to note. I thought I put something along those lines in my post but apparently left it out. \$\endgroup\$ – claudekennilol Apr 20 '15 at 15:12

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.