2
\$\begingroup\$

The magus's spell combat says, "This functions much like two-weapon fighting, but the off-hand weapon is a spell that is being cast."

When a magus delivers a touch spell as a free action using spellstrike while employing a weapon, is his extra damage from his Strength bonus halved and his bonus damage from the feat Power Attack as per an off-hand weapon?

\$\endgroup\$
0

1 Answer 1

2
\$\begingroup\$

No, you're delivering the spell through your weapon that is in your main hand. That language you're reading is to clarify that "you're using your offhand to cast a spell so you can't be holding anything else in it". So you get none of the penalties you're specifically asking about.

If there's anything about the magus still confusing you I highly recommend that you read both walter's guide to the magus and this guide on the paizo rules forums (the latter specifically covers the intricacies of magus spell casting/fighting)

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • \$\begingroup\$ It’s worth mentioning that even if you are using two-weapon fighting, your main hand weapon still gets full Str (assuming it’s one-handed) and Power Attack; only the off-hand weapon gets reduced Power Attack (and Str for being light). The offhand casts the spell, but the main hand is wielding the weapon, and delivers the attack. \$\endgroup\$
    – KRyan
    Commented Apr 20, 2015 at 14:55
  • \$\begingroup\$ That's definitely important to note. I thought I put something along those lines in my post but apparently left it out. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Apr 20, 2015 at 15:12

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .