In my book Vampire: The Masquerade 20th Anniversary Edition the combat system is described as a series of Combat Turns (Page 271-273). Each turn is comprised of three stages :
In stage one, every combatant rolls for initiative, then everyone in increasing order of initiative declares their actions. It is stated that the character with the highest initiative performs her action(s) first.
In stage two (this is where it's becoming blurry) character will make their attack rolls (if any declared)
In stage three attacks and damage are resolved by rolling damage and soaking.
My question is: Do the stages two and three behave as the first one in terms of everyone doing their actions before the next stage begins, or do we do stage two and three successively for each character?
For example if we have 4 combatants, Alice, Bob, Charlie and Danielle, the first combat turn should be:
Stage One : Initiative
Danielle: "I attack Alice."
Charlie: "I attack Dan."
Bob: "I attack Claire."
Alice: "I attack Dan."
Stage Two : Attack
Danielle does not abort her action.
Alice: Gets 5 successes on her attack against Danielle.
Now either we go on with Alice's Stage Three: Resolution to come back to Bob's Stage Two afterwards (Option 1), or we continue on Bob's Stage Two and deal with Alice's Resolution after Danielle's Attack (Option 2).
This is really important because if Alice's attack deals damage to Danielle, Danielle's attack will suffer a dice penalty if we do Alice's resolution before Danielle's attack. One of my players supporting option 1 told me this makes sense because if you, for example, happen to kill your opponent with your attack, being faster than him (= having higher initiative) means you kill him before he can touch you. This does make sense indeed and this is how I went on with the rules. (He also said that he feels being faster gives you nothing if you can't hit (and cause damage/penalty) before your opponent. I tried reasoning with him that you can react to what your opponent does and that's already a great thing but he was not satisfied.)
Reading the rules at first I thought Option 2 was what's supposed to happen though, as it should not be separated into three stages but only two if Option 1 was correct.