29
\$\begingroup\$

For a fighter in D&D 5e, I can take one fighting style as part of the character creation. At third level, I can choose a martial archetype (Champion) which can then allow me to choose an additional fighting style.

Is there any other way to choose multiple fighting styles?

\$\endgroup\$
44
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, if multiclassing is allowed.

You can take 2 levels of Paladin to gain an additional fighting style, and/or 2 levels of Ranger to gain another.

James @JamesMusicus
@JeremyECrawford Hi Jeremy, I was wondering about the wording of Fighting Styles in 5e. Can you have more than 1 from multiclassing?

Jeremy Crawford @JeremyECrawford
Yep!
2:22 AM - 21 Jan 2015

\$\endgroup\$
-13
\$\begingroup\$

No... the rules clearly say this isn't allowed... Accept if you are a fighter and pick the champion archetype. at 10th level can choose a second fighting style... but you can always homebrew. Talk to you DM and see if they will allow it... remember the rules are guidelines not actually rules.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Hello, and welcome to the site! That's a good name you've got! Make sure you take the tour when you get a chance! The rules for fighting styles say that you can't take the same option more than once, not that you can't benefit from the feature more than once. Additionally, the multiclass rules don't mention anything about exceptions for fighting style class features. If you have a rules reference that supports your stance, you should include that reference in your answer. \$\endgroup\$ – Adam Apr 29 '17 at 14:45
-14
\$\begingroup\$

For ALL intents and purposes for fighting styles; Fighter, Paladin, and Ranger included....there is this bit on the end:

PHB pg72, pg84, pg91 Fighting Styles: "...You CAN'T take a Fighting Style option more than once, even if you later get to choose again..."

Since the only way you would ever be able TO choose more than once is through multiclassing, this is a down the board hard rule and includes but is not limited to Multiclassing. The ONLY addendum to this rule is when it specifically states in your class list that you may choose another from the list, as with hitting Champion level 10.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 24
    \$\begingroup\$ I think this text is suggesting that you can't take the same one more than once, not that you can't take one more than once. (several of them would be able to stack, like the ranged +2 to attacks, duelists +1 to damage, armored's +1 to AC etc) \$\endgroup\$ – wax eagle Apr 21 '15 at 14:01
  • \$\begingroup\$ @waxeagle Hmm....you know what? You may be on to something....but I see potential for abuse if the text isn't ruled the way I personally interpret it. Even if you can't stack the SAME one, having 2 (Champion) plus 1 from Paladin/Ranger could still result in some pretty hardcore maxing. I see your point though.... I wonder if there's any official interpretation on this. Never thought of it that way. \$\endgroup\$ – Airatome Apr 21 '15 at 14:06
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ honestly, there isn't all the much potential there from where I sit, Defensive+armored+fighting technique is about as good as you can get, which isn't all that great tbh. And, ultimately, martial characters are so far behind casters that it's not really even remotely an issue. \$\endgroup\$ – wax eagle Apr 21 '15 at 14:07
  • \$\begingroup\$ This is why I play a Vengeance Paladin .... I get the martial fighting style, all proficiencies, and a mix of offensive and defensive magics. Now if I can just convince my DM to allow Multiclassing so I can get myself some more spell slots and levels...I'd be golden. I'm not about this 5th level caster and a small handful of slots crap :P \$\endgroup\$ – Airatome Apr 21 '15 at 14:12
  • \$\begingroup\$ I made the same mistake on my first read of it, but really, if they wanted to say "You can't take more than one Fighting Style", they would have said that instead of saying "You can't take a Fighting Style option more than once". \$\endgroup\$ – CrusaderJ Apr 21 '15 at 15:56

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.