11
\$\begingroup\$

As I understand it:

  • if you have Advantage from two different sources, you simply have Advantage (no stacking)
  • if you have advantage from one source, and disadvantage from one source, they cancel out.

So what if you have advantage from two or more sources, and disadvantage from one source? My assumption is that you simply have advantage, or put another way, you have Advantage on a roll when the # of Advantages > # of Disadvantages (and vice versa).

Is that correct?

\$\endgroup\$
49
\$\begingroup\$

Having both advantage and disadvantage on your roll from any number of sources always means you have neither. (Even if you have a dozen sources of advantage, and just one source of disadvantage.)

From the Basic Rules section on advantage:

If circumstances cause a roll to have both advantage and disadvantage, you are considered to have neither of them, and you roll one d20. This is true even if multiple circumstances impose disadvantage and only one grants advantage or vice versa.

\$\endgroup\$
13
\$\begingroup\$

No, advantage and disadvantage cancel each other out, regardless of how many there are from any source.

If circumstances cause a roll to have both advantage and disadvantage, you are considered to have neither of them, and you roll one d20. This is true even if multiple circumstances impose disadvantage and only one grants advantage or vice versa. In such a situation, you have neither advantage or disadvantage (PHB 173).

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.