4
\$\begingroup\$

Can a Thief use a Trick power to gain a benefit without actually moving? For example, could they use Thug's Trick to make shifting provoke OAs or Acrobat's Trick to gain a damage bonus without shifting/moving (respectively)?

If so, would Acrobat's Trick still provoke an OA from adjacent enemies?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ +1, Good couple of questions so far. Obviously it's not a big deal, as you already have a good answer, but I would have found this a lot easier to answer with either some of the rules text from the abilities you're asking about or a reference to the source: "Thug's Trick, from Martial Power 2" or wherever it's from. Just a tip. \$\endgroup\$ – DCShannon Apr 27 '15 at 23:35
6
\$\begingroup\$

Yes. The abilities simply allow you to move or shift "up to" a certain number of squares, and 0 is an allowable number. The fact that they are a Move Action is irrelevant.

This is the same wording used on Forced Movement (Compendium, Forced Movement):

When a distance is specified, it is a maximum; the creature or effect producing the forced movement can move its target up to that number of squares (or none at all). For instance, a character's power might say, "You slide the target 4 squares (or up to 4 squares)"; both mean the character can move the target up to 4 squares or not move it at all.

As for Acrobat's Trick, it will not provoke an Opportunity Attack because you never leave the square you are in. See the Compendium, Opportunity Attack:

Moving Provokes: If an enemy leaves a square adjacent to you, you can make an opportunity attack against that enemy.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.