7
\$\begingroup\$

The 1st-level cleric spell ceremony is complex: first, the caster takes 8 hours casting the spell then for 1 hour grants 2 creatures a benefit depending on the picked ceremony—either funeral, holiday fete, marriage, or naming—and an additional benefit depending on one of the caster's domains.

Obviously, this is supposed to be a role-playing spell—like AD&D's Unearthed Arcana spell ceremony that it echoes—, but this is Pathfinder, so Abe doesn't want to join two folks in holy matrimony1 or name a baby2 or any of that crap. He wants to use this spell to gain cheap water breathing or improve his monster-murdering ability.

Thus Abe, a spellcaster with the feat Craft Wand who can't cast the spell ceremony, works alongside Bob, a cleric who can cast the spell ceremony, to create a spiffy new wand of ceremony (1st-level spell at caster level 1) (750 gp; 0 lbs.) (50 charges).

The next morning—from, like, dawn until 2 PM—Abe makes a Use Magic Device skill check to use the wand (DC 20) and takes 8 hours to cast on himself and his compsognathus familiar Clyde the spell ceremony.3

What domain benefits granted by the spell ceremony can Abe bestow on himself and Clyde? That is, is Abe limited in his choices because of the way the wand of ceremony was created? Further, must Abe make additional Use Magic Device skill checks to bestow these benefits because Abe doesn't have any domains?


1 Granting the newly married couple for 1 hour a +1 sacred bonus on saving throws against fear and emotion effects. Sure. Whatever.
2 Whose parents can can cast sanctuary once during the hour afterward. Maybe parent's'll need a 1-round time-out?
3 C'mon, you know the ceremony Abe picks is holiday fete. The only other choice would see Abe and Clyde married, and Clyde's not ready, okay?

\$\endgroup\$
3
\$\begingroup\$

While it's not RAW, I would argue that Abe cannot use a domain ceremony unless he emulates one with a Use Magic Device check. If Abe chooses to emulate a domain, he can pick any domain he meets the requirements for (or can emulate the requirements for), but must continue to emulate the domain throughout the entire casting of the ceremony spell. From the text of ceremony:

In addition to these four ceremonies, each cleric gains two more ceremonies according to her domain.

This implies that since Abe doesn't have a domain, he does not gain the two additional ceremonies that a Cleric normally would. However, Use Magic Device allows a practitioner to emulate a class feature, granting them the ability to activate an item as if they had that feature (but not being able to use that feature). Abe could choose to emulate a Cleric domain as a class feature (and select a different domain each time), and therefore would be able to use the additional ceremony provided by the chosen domain.

Use Magic Device also says:

If you are using the check to emulate an alignment or some other quality in an ongoing manner, you need to make the relevant Use Magic Device check once per hour.

It takes 8 hours to cast the spell ceremony. Therefore, Abe would need to succeed on 9 DC 20 Use Magic Device checks: eight to to emulate the Cleric domain class feature for the duration and another to activate the wand.

One might say that the wand would be tied to Bob's domains, but I don't think that's the case because the ceremony performed is selected when the spell is cast and can be different with each casting of the spell. Even without a domain, Abe could select from any of the 4 available ceremonies every time he uses the wand. In essence, performing the ceremony and casting the spell are two different actions that occur at the same time. Therefore, Bob's domains are not transferred into the wand when it is made - having the domains represents knowledge of how to perform the ceremony in question.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @thedarkwanderer ceremony cannot be made into a potion because it has a casting time greater than 1 minute. \$\endgroup\$ – David Reeve Apr 29 '15 at 11:06
  • \$\begingroup\$ Where's that limit on potion brewing? Can you provide a link? (A potion of ceremony remains problematic, though, 'cause it usually targets at least two people. To whom is the drinker of a potion of marriage ceremony married?) \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Apr 29 '15 at 11:51
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ d20pfsrd.com/magic-items/potions "It can duplicate the effect of a spell of up to 3rd level that has a casting time of less than 1 minute and targets one or more creatures or objects." \$\endgroup\$ – David Reeve Apr 29 '15 at 12:24
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ Thank you. I was totally unaware of that; I've never even read mention of that rule. Seriously, that's not in the feat Brew Potion nor in Creating Potions but in the description of potions. Sigh. Pathfinder. \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Apr 29 '15 at 12:53
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ But for a wand of ceremony, "No gestures or spell finishing is needed, just a special knowledge of spellcasting that an appropriate character would know [i.e. the spell on the dude's spell list], and a single word that must be spoken." So while it still takes 8 hours to cast, it's just 8 hours of saying that one word instead of performing the for-reals ceremony. (I'm not hassling you, by the way; I just want to make sure all the bases are covered.) \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Apr 30 '15 at 13:49

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.