6
\$\begingroup\$

Part of the Shift rule is this:

No Opportunity Attacks: Your movement doesn’t provoke opportunity attacks.

However, there are a few Opportunity Actions that do not include attacks. If such an opportunity action was triggered by movement, could it be set off by a shift?

\$\endgroup\$
6
\$\begingroup\$

Yes.

From the PHB, page 290 (Opportunity Attack): "The most common form of opportunity action is an opportunity attack - a melee basic attack against the creature that provokes it."

And the PHB, page 292 (Shift): "No Opportunity Attacks: If you shift out of a square adjacent to an enemy, you don't provoke an opportunity attack."

This means that Opportunity Attacks are a subset of Opportunity Actions, and the rules for Shifting specifically call out this subset.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.