7
\$\begingroup\$

The Way of the Four Elements monastic tradition includes the Water Whip discipline, which allows the monk to create a whip of water that shoves and pulls a creature to unbalance it. Does the monk require a source of water to form the whip? From a 'reality' perspective it would make sense.

The spell description doesn't say this is a spellcasting requirement, so the RAW answer is probably 'no', but I wanted to double check.

\$\endgroup\$
16
\$\begingroup\$

No, you don't need a source of water to create the whip.

Water Whip isn't a spell, therefore it doesn't follow the spellcasting rules of needing components found in chapter 10 of the PHB. Nor is there anything in its description that states such a requirement is needed.

Even if it were a spell, the section under the heading Casting Elemental Spells on page 80 states:

To cast one of these spells, you use its casting time and other rules, but you don’t need to provide material components for it.

\$\endgroup\$
6
\$\begingroup\$

It doesn't say anywhere that it requires a source of water, so it does not require a source of water

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ It also doesn't say that it has a somatic component, but it probably does... Maybe there are other implied components? \$\endgroup\$ – Maarten May 2 '15 at 9:48
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ No, there are no implied components. As the accepted answer says, it is not even a spell. And if it was, there are NO implied components, all components are explicit. \$\endgroup\$ – xanderh May 2 '15 at 11:02

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.