3
\$\begingroup\$

The soulmeld blink shirt says that the meldshaper gains

the ability to teleport (as dimension door) up to 10 feet at will. Using this ability is a standard action. After using this ability, you can’t take any other actions until your next turn. You cannot bring along other creatures; you affect only yourself. (Magic of Incarnum 61)

When a meldshaper uses the ability to teleport gained from the blink shirt, does the meldshaper provoke attacks of opportunity, as if casting a spell or using a spell-like ability; or does the meldshaper not provoke attacks of opportunity, as if using an extraordinary, natural, or supernatural ability?

Because the text doesn't categorize this ability as extraordinary, spell-like, or supernatural, by default the special ability is natural, but it just feels wrong to categorize as natural a special ability gained from a shirt woven of preincarnate souls.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ I guess maybe preincarnate souls are no more supernatural than incarnate or post-incarnate ones? I mean, living people don't provoke attacks of opportunity when animating their bodies, and petitioners and incorporeal undead aren't picked up by Detect Magic... \$\endgroup\$ – GMJoe May 6 '15 at 0:51
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @GMJoe Would that an explanation were that simple! Soulmeld–Magic Transparency says, "Soulmelds interact with spells and spells interact with soulmelds in the same way that a spell or a normal spell-like ability interacts with another spell or spell-like ability (with a limited number of exceptions...)" (MoI 52). So, yeah, I dunno. \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan May 6 '15 at 0:59
3
\$\begingroup\$

Soulmelds are their own, unique form of magic, not following the rules for supernatural abilities, spell-like abilities, or spells. The rules for them never say that they provoke attacks of opportunity when used, thus they do not; provoking is a special facet of some actions, never a default.

The fact that the blink shirt mimics a spell (dimension door) is irrelevant here: it’s not being used as a spell, it just has the effect of the spell. The blink shirt’s dimension door no more provokes attacks of opportunity than does the supernatural dimension door of the blink dog it came from.

\$\endgroup\$
0
\$\begingroup\$

Magic of Incarnum doesn't specify what type of ability souldmelds or their powers fall under but if you have to classify it into a specific category it would most closely resemble a spell-like ability. So yes, using it would provoke an attack of opportunity.

Magic Of Incarnum Page 52 "Incarnum and Spells"

Spell resistance is effective against any soulmeld used to affect a creature other than the meldshaper. A meldshaper’s spell resistance (if any) is automatically overcome by his own soulmelds. Dispel magic and spells of that nature interact with a soul- meld as if the soulmeld were a magic item.

Supernatural and Extraordinary abilities are not subject to dispelling or spell resistance.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.