4
\$\begingroup\$

There's a trap defined in the Dungeon Master Guide on page 91 called Spectral Tendrils.

The Hit line of the trap's attack says:

Hit: 2d10 + 6 necrotic damage and dazed until the end of the target's next turn.
Aftereffect: Dazed until the end of the target's next turn.

What?

Aftereffects occur after an effect that a save can end ends. There's no effect that a save can end here. Is it supposed to be "dazed (save ends)", or are they just dazed for two turns?

I checked UpdateDMG, and there's no errata for this trap.

\$\endgroup\$
4
\$\begingroup\$

Aftereffects happen when an effect ends, however it doesn't have to be a (save ends) effect.

From page 98 of the Rules Compendium and also page 219 of the PHB2:

Aftereffect: An aftereffect automatically occurs after another effect ends. An “Aftereffect” entry follows the effect it applies to, which is typically in a “Hit” or an “Effect” entry.

The confusion probably comes from the fact that they follow this with a (save ends) example but it never actually says that Aftereffects only occur after a (save ends) effect ends.

Therefore, in the case of Spectral Tendrils, they would be dazed for two turns; once when they get hit by the trap and again when that first daze ends.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Ah, why didn't I check the RC? The PH says it's just after save effects on page 279. Thanks. \$\endgroup\$ – DCShannon May 13 '15 at 0:24

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.