15
\$\begingroup\$

Does the Goliath's carrying capacity increase from its Powerful Build feature stack with the Barbarian's carrying capacity doubling from its Bear Totem feature? For example, would those two together give a character with Strength 20 a carrying capacity of 1200 lbs?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ You should change the title of the question. Lifting is different from carrying capacity. One is active and requires a roll, the other does not. This question is about the latter. This may be a bit nitpicky. \$\endgroup\$ – Jason_c_o May 15 '15 at 5:56
17
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, these abilities should stack fully. While previous editions had rules around stacking multipliers, 5e doesn't, and even if it did, Powerful Build doesn't directly multiply your carrying capacity - it just makes you count as Large.

Your carrying capacity as a Str 20 character = 20 × 15 = 300.

Then being a Large creature (from Powerful Build) doubles your carrying capacity to 600.

Finally, the Bear Totem feature doubles your carrying capacity to 1200.

This isn't particularly imbalanced - you had to work reasonably hard to get it, and carrying capacity doesn't matter that much anyway. Besides, it's not enough to let you beat the Elephant :(

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.