16
\$\begingroup\$

Does the Goliath's carrying capacity increase from its Powerful Build feature stack with the Barbarian's carrying capacity doubling from its Bear Totem feature? For example, would those two together give a character with Strength 20 a carrying capacity of 1200 lbs?

\$\endgroup\$
3
  • \$\begingroup\$ You should change the title of the question. Lifting is different from carrying capacity. One is active and requires a roll, the other does not. This question is about the latter. This may be a bit nitpicky. \$\endgroup\$
    – Jason_c_o
    May 15 '15 at 5:56
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Jason_c_o: Neither requires a roll by RAW (assuming your character's not trying to lift/carry something beyond their limit, at least). They're both based on your Strength score (push/drag/lift limit is twice your carrying capacity, which is equal to Str score times 15). \$\endgroup\$
    – V2Blast
    Aug 14 '20 at 22:30
  • \$\begingroup\$ True. But I still feel there's a difference between lifting and carrying capacity. If it's within your capacity, then you're carrying it. I just read "lifting" as implying the character is attempting to lift it. \$\endgroup\$
    – Jason_c_o
    Aug 16 '20 at 18:13
20
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, these abilities should stack fully. While previous editions had rules around stacking multipliers, 5e doesn't, and even if it did, Powerful Build doesn't directly multiply your carrying capacity - it just makes you count as Large.

Your carrying capacity as a Str 20 character = 20 × 15 = 300.

Then being a Large creature (from Powerful Build) doubles your carrying capacity to 600.

Finally, the Bear Totem feature doubles your carrying capacity to 1200.

This isn't particularly imbalanced - you had to work reasonably hard to get it, and carrying capacity doesn't matter that much anyway. Besides, it's not enough to let you beat the Elephant :(

\$\endgroup\$
0

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .