1
\$\begingroup\$

My level 10 Wizard has 2 + Int mod(+6) base damage for Magic Missile. If I add to that a Dragon-tooth wand of cold +2, will my Magic Missile damage become 11? [2 + Int mod(+6) + 2 enhancement bonus + 1 deadly implement bonus]

Also will Diabolic Transformation power give me +2 damage to my Magic Missile?

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • \$\begingroup\$ Can you provide a few more details (such as why you aren't sure if it applies and maybe the rules text for the item in question?) \$\endgroup\$
    – Erik
    Commented May 15, 2015 at 10:51
  • \$\begingroup\$ Be aware that magic missile has been errataed to a very different version to cater to "magic missile always hits" 3.x edition fans. Which version are you asking about? \$\endgroup\$
    – Zachiel
    Commented May 15, 2015 at 11:07

1 Answer 1

3
\$\begingroup\$

No, the damage is 10.

The deadly property on the Dragontooth weapon only applies to damage rolls. Magic missile does not roll any dice and thus does not have a damage roll. The implement's enhancement damage applies because it applies to all damage done via spells cast with the implement (and magic missile explicitly calls this out). However, if a power/ability adds to "damage rolls" it does not apply to Magic Missile because Magic Missile does not have a damage roll.

Normally, these properties would stack, allowing the implement to provide +3 damage (+2 for enhancement, +1 for deadly). Additionally, the wand of cold's feature would also stack, so if you used this power with, say, ray of frost, you'd get +4 damage (+2 for enhancment, +1 for deadly, +1 for cold). The general rule in 4e is that untyped bonuses stack, and same typed bonuses to not stack. We're dealing with 2 untyped bonuses and 1 enhancement bonus, so they all stack.

\$\endgroup\$

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .