4
\$\begingroup\$

Hellcat gauntlets(Magic Item Compendium pg.111) can be activated to add 1d6 points of slashing damage per spell level to the next spell cast. Can they be used with the Warlocks Eldritch Blast spell-like ability?

\$\endgroup\$
3
\$\begingroup\$

No, Eldritch Blast is a Spell-Like Ability, not a Spell.

As a DM, what would I do? I would say, yes it does.


Discussion

Warlocks are not CoDzillas and can typically use all the help they can get. I would base my ruling on the information provided below:

Eldritch Blast

An eldritch blast is the equivalent of a 1st-level spell. If you apply a blast shape or eldritch essence invocation to your eldritch blast (see page 130), your eldritch blast uses the level equivalent of the shape or essence.

Metamagic feats cannot improve a warlock's eldritch blast (because it is a spell-like ability, not a spell).

Hellcat Gauntlets

When you activate hellcat gauntlets, the next spell you cast during your turn that targets a single creature also deals 1d6 points of slashing damage per level of the spell.


Ruling

Since Eldritch Blast is equivalent to a spell, I would allow it to be used with Hellcat Gauntlets.

In the Name of Fluff

Warlocks, typically, are fiendish in nature, and particularly affiliated with fiends of the Nine Hells (devils). Warlocks, especially if using the prestige class that allows them to use Hellfire Blast, relish in the powers of Hell, and Hellcat Gauntlets would improve upon that namesake.

\$\endgroup\$
4
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Eldritch blast is equivalent in level to a 1st-level spell. But it is a spell-like ability, not a spell. Spell-like abilities just have equivalent spell levels. \$\endgroup\$
    – KRyan
    May 22 '15 at 3:51
  • \$\begingroup\$ @KRyan You are right. I edited the answer. \$\endgroup\$
    – Ruut
    May 22 '15 at 3:56
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Only one line really holds the answer the OP was looking for, while all the rest is "what I would do". Some more clarification on why it is no by the RAW would help people unfamiliar or new to the system to understand. \$\endgroup\$
    – D-zap
    May 22 '15 at 7:09
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Much clearer now, +1 \$\endgroup\$
    – D-zap
    May 22 '15 at 9:53
6
\$\begingroup\$

No.

As you stated yourself, Eldritch Blast is a spell-like ability. Since the effect of Hellcat Gauntlets only applies on spells, it shouldn't affect Eldritch Blast.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.