1
\$\begingroup\$

In Pathfinder, wizards are often required to have a bonded item which is in the form of a amulet, ring, staff, wand or weapon. I was reading a guide to wizards which lamented about the loss of the magic item slot (which I can agree with).

But after reading the arcane bond entry, it describes how it must be worn or in hand. I take it that if you got the weapon and just wore it on your side then it would not be sufficient?

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ Note that it's not a total loss as an item slot; you get a pass on a feat to turn the arcane bonded object into a magical item, so if it's a ring you can enchant it as if you had Forge Ring. \$\endgroup\$
    – Rob
    Jun 2 '15 at 7:16
6
\$\begingroup\$

If the object is an amulet or ring, it must be worn to have effect, while staves, wands, and weapons must be held in one hand. Source (PFSRD)

Unfortunately no. And It doesn't matter whether is stays in the sheath or not, as long as you're holding it.

\$\endgroup\$
4
  • \$\begingroup\$ I would argue that it could still be sheathed as long as its held in hand. Just not helpful for hitting people with it, lol. \$\endgroup\$
    – Fering
    Jun 2 '15 at 6:50
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Fering Haha edited. When I wrote it I just pictured someone holding the sword, sheath still at the hip. I didn't mean to imply it had to be unsheathed, but rather didn't consider that they may unhook it and hold the whole ensemble lol. \$\endgroup\$
    – Jason_c_o
    Jun 2 '15 at 6:56
  • \$\begingroup\$ Also adds the bizarre thought that wizards can't have two handed weapons as foci by RAW, no Quarterstaff for Gandalf \$\endgroup\$
    – Rob
    Jun 2 '15 at 14:34
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Rob Apparently they just have to remove one hand before they can use it properly haha. Though, I don't think RAI that the emphasis should be on one hand moreso than held. \$\endgroup\$
    – Jason_c_o
    Jun 2 '15 at 22:49
-1
\$\begingroup\$

If the object is an amulet or ring, it must be worn to have effect, while staves, wands, and weapons must be wielded. This plainly states that weapons must be wielded! Beside how great would it be for the GM when the player with a bonded Bastard Sword has to pull his weapon to cast. I foresee many injuries for the poor mage. Pull a sword in a crowd of already antsy anyones.

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! You could improve this answer by including quotes and/or references for your statements. Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance. Good Luck and Happy Gaming! \$\endgroup\$
    – Someone_Evil
    May 4 '19 at 14:57

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.