4
\$\begingroup\$

I wanted to know if using Hypnotic Gaze from the Wizard's enchantment specialization would end invisibility.

RAW, I would think Hypnotic Gaze would be classified as a class feature instead of a spell or attack, thus not ending Invisibility. A fellow player in our session made an argument against this line of thought, as he claimed that Hypnotic Gaze would be a spell.

\$\endgroup\$
12
\$\begingroup\$

Hypnotic Gaze is not a spell, nor is it an attack. It's an effect granted by a class feature. By RAW it does not cause invisibility to end.

However, since it's like a spell and affects another creature in a similar manner to a spell, DMs would be well within bounds to rule that using that ability would end invisibility (this should come with a warning prior to use).

\$\endgroup\$
-3
\$\begingroup\$

You actually can't use Hypnotic Gaze while invisible, as the target must be able to see and hear you for it to have any effect. If you use it while invisible, nothing happens, and if you go invisible, or even walk out of their line of sight while it's active, it ends.

edit: Sorry, it's either see or hear. My bad!

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Does "hear" matter with this effect? You might want to expand on that by editing that point into your answer. \$\endgroup\$ – KorvinStarmast Mar 21 '17 at 22:16
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Don't signal edits. Edit the answer itself so it makes sense and the reader doesn't have to read the bottom to know that something was wrong. \$\endgroup\$ – daze413 Mar 22 '17 at 0:17

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.