Stack Exchange Network
Stack Exchange network consists of 181 Q&A communities including
Stack Overflow, the largest, most trusted online community for developers to learn, share their knowledge, and build their careers.
Visit Stack Exchange
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It only takes a minute to sign up.
Sign up to join this community
Anybody can ask a question
The best answers are voted up and rise to the top
7 years, 11 months ago
Assume you cast Barkskin in humanoid form:
You touch a willing creature. Until the spell ends, the target’s skin has a rough, bark-like appearance, and the target’s AC can’t be less than 16, regardless of what kind of arm or it is wearing.
It is clear that under the rules of Wild Shape
"transforming doesn’t break your concentration on a spell you’ve already cast", but does the effect of the spell carry over to your new skin?
242k 43 43 gold badges 781 781 silver badges 1023 1023 bronze badges
Jun 10, 2015 at 11:34
59.8k 35 35 gold badges 180 180 silver badges 386 386 bronze badges
Unlike something such as
Mage Armour, Barkskin doesn't set your base AC to a certain number, it just says that your AC can't be anything less than 16. Therefore you don't have multiple ways to calculate your AC and aren't forced to choose between one or the other (PHB pg.14).
Wild Shape also says nothing about ending any effects that are already applied to the target, so things like Conditions and spell effects would carry over from one form to the next: also discussed here regarding Exhaustion and Wild Shape.
Jun 10, 2015 at 12:02
Purple Monkey Purple Monkey
56.5k 17 17 gold badges 241 241 silver badges 313 313 bronze badges
I'll point out that Jeremy Crawford has also
ruled that barkskin works in beast form.
Q: Can druids cast stoneshape or barkskin have that work when in
A: Stoneskin and barkskin work in beast form.
Jan 23, 2017 at 3:59
23.2k 30 30 gold badges 120 120 silver badges 171 171 bronze badges
log in to answer this question.
Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged
By clicking “Accept all cookies”, you agree Stack Exchange can store cookies on your device and disclose information in accordance with our
Accept all cookies
Necessary cookies only