Does the magical bonus of armor and a shield stack?

For example, would a PC with a +2 armor and a +2 shield be able to stack both bonuses?



In D&D5 everything with a plus/minus stacks with every other thing with a plus/minus.

Things that set a value do not stack with other things that set a value but do stack with things that give a plus. For example, the Mage Armor spell sets your AC to 13 + DEX bonus; it does not stack with a draconic sorcerer's natural armor which also sets your AC to 13 + DEX bonus, however, either will stack with the Shield spell which adds +5 to your AC.

| improve this answer | |


Normal armour stacks with a normal shield, and there's nothing in the rules to suggest that this is different for magic items. It even allows you to wield/wear multiple of the same item, for example three rings of protection, granting you a total bonus of +3 to AC.

The only mention of multiple items with the same effect is the "multiple items of the same kind" section on page 141 of the DMG. This section states that you should use logic to decide whether a character can wear more than one of a given item. There's nothing in the book that suggests that multiple rings of protection cannot be worn at the same time (or even multiple cloaks of protection, for that matter), so if that's the case, there's no reason why you shouldn't be able to get the magic bonus from a magical armour and magical shield.

| improve this answer | |
  • \$\begingroup\$ "Use Logic" - might prove difficult. \$\endgroup\$ – Zibbobz Jun 17 '15 at 13:29
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ "Use Logic" and "The GM Decides" seems to be the two golden rules of 5ed. \$\endgroup\$ – ShadowKras Jun 17 '15 at 14:23
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ @Xanderh I don't think you can wear multiple of the same item: "Additionally, a creature can't attune to more than one copy of an item. For example, a creature can't attune to more than one ring of protection at a time." DMG P 138. \$\endgroup\$ – Seyres Jun 20 '15 at 1:11
  • \$\begingroup\$ That is correct for attunement. So, for rings of protection etc, you can't. But for cloaks that don't require attunement, you can wear a couple. Not that it'll make much of a difference. \$\endgroup\$ – xanderh Jun 20 '15 at 8:25
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @DanHenderson Yeah, no hard restrictions. The DMG does state that you can only benefit from two items from the same "slot" if it would make sense that you could wear them both. Two suits of armour wouldn't work (a lenient DM might allow a chain shirt and plate armour), and two pairs of boots or gloves wouldn't either, as paired items only work when you wear both. But 5e doesn't have actual magic item slots. \$\endgroup\$ – xanderh Nov 20 '15 at 0:06

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.