6
\$\begingroup\$

Say I cast fireball using Twinned spell, I would expend 3 sorcery points and cast a second fireball, would casting those two fireballs use one or two of my level 3 spell slots?

\$\endgroup\$
28
\$\begingroup\$

Using Twinned Spell only uses one spell slot. This is because you are not casting two spells, rather you are making a single spell hit more than one target.

"...target a second creature in range with the same spell..."

However, it's worth noting that you can't cast Fireball with Twinned Spell.

Quote from PHB page 102 (emphasis mine)

Twinned Spell: When you cast a spell that targets only one creature and doesn’t have a range of self, you can spend a number of sorcery points equal to the spell’s level to target a second creature in range with the same spell (1 sorcery point if the spell is a cantrip).

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.