Monsters or players can have the ability to become invisible, as per the Invisibility spell. In the rules, it's said that an invisible/unseen creature gets advantage on its attacks, and enemies attacking it do so at disadvantage.
Page 194 of the PHB says, under "Unseen Attackers and Targets":
When you attack a target that you can’t see, you have disadvantage on the attack roll. This is true whether you’re guessing the target’s location or you’re targeting a creature you can hear but not see. If the target isn’t in the location you targeted, you automatically miss, but the DM typically just says that the attack missed, not whether you guessed the target’s location correctly.
When a creature can’t see you, you have advantage on attack rolls against it.
But the Invisibility spell says that you lose invisibility when making an attack or casting a spell:
A creature you touch becomes invisible until the spell ends. [...] The spell ends for a target that attacks or casts a spell.
- Does an invisible creature lose the advantage/disadvantage when making an attack?
- Or always have advantage for his attack, but lose disadvantage versus an (opportunity) attack of the enemy?
- If he always has advantage, what happens if he has multiple attacks?
In case of a pixie or a faerie dragon, who have Superior Invisibility, does the invisibility still remain?
Superior Invisibility. As a bonus action, the dragon can magically turn invisible until its concentration ends (as if concentrating on a spell).
(Note: You can attack without losing concentration.)