3
\$\begingroup\$

According to the grapple rules in the SRD:

...you deal damage to the target as if with an unarmed strike.

When you look at the weapons table for unarmed strike you see:

unarmed attacks

Would that mean grappling does bludgeoning damage?

This might seem like a trivial question, but we're experiencing disagreement on this point.

\$\endgroup\$
10
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, of course. That's exactly what it's saying.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ I realize this question borderlines ridiculousness, but I asked it to get someone to 'see, I'm not the only one that says so.' \$\endgroup\$ – Ruut Jul 23 '15 at 18:02
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ @Ruut Fair enough! That's useful context information to put in the question. I added that to the question — but if you could elaborate on what the argument against is, I can elaborate in this answer on the argument for, tailoring it to the difficulty you're trying to solve. \$\endgroup\$ – SevenSidedDie Jul 23 '15 at 18:03
  • \$\begingroup\$ A fellow player, I am not DM'ing for a change, is telling the DM that grappling damage is un-typed and therefore not subject to damage reduction effects. I told him that it deals damage according to unarmed strike. His argument is based on "as if" meaning "similar but not the same." I told him he was reading way too deep into things that don't exist. \$\endgroup\$ – Ruut Jul 23 '15 at 18:19

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.