Would a monk with the tavern brawler feat have improvised weapons count as monk weapons? It states in the monk martial arts feature that:

At 1st level, your practice of martial arts gives you mastery of combat styles that use unarmed strikes and monk weapons, which are short swords and any simple melee weapons that don’t have the two-handed or heavy property.

Now for the Tavern Brawler feat it states that:

You are proficient with improvised weapons and unarmed strikes.

And the rules for improvised weapons are:

In many cases, an improvised weapon is similar to an actual weapon and can be treated as such. For example, a table leg is akin to a club. At the DM’s option, a character proficient with a weapon can use a similar object as if it were that weapon and use his or her proficiency bonus. An object that bears no resemblance to a weapon deals 1d4 damage.

If the improvised weapon does not resemble a weapon, is simple, and is not heavy or two-handed, could a monk replace the d4 dice? For example if the monk is level 6 and has a unarmed attack of a d6, with a d6 dice instead?

  • Welcome to the site! Be sure to check out the tour when you get a chance! Great first question as well, I'd recommend you notate which version of Dungeons and Dragons or Pathfinder you're attempting to use via the dnd-3.5e, dnd-5e or the pathfinder tags to get a clear system-specific answer to your question. – Sandwich Jul 20 '15 at 7:33
  • 1
    I've done some fairly major editing for grammar, formatting and general clarity; feel free to edit or revert if it doesn't match what you wanted to ask. – Miniman Jul 20 '15 at 7:40

No, a monk can't use their Martial Arts feature with improvised weapons. Monk weapons are:

short swords and any simple melee weapons that don’t have the two-handed or heavy property.

Unfortunately, simple melee weapons are weapons that are in the "Simple Melee Weapons" category on the weapons table, and improvised weapons aren't present there. (Otherwise everyone who was proficient with simple melee weapons would be proficient with improvised weapons.)

So improvised weapons aren't simple melee weapons, and therefore they aren't monk weapons either and can't be used with Martial Arts.

In many cases, an improvised weapon is similar to an actual weapon and can be treated as such. For example, a table leg is akin to a club. At the DM’s option, a character proficient with a weapon can use a similar object as if it were that weapon ...

This is the crux of the matter, If the weapon can be treated as a qualifying simple weapon, then the DM may allow it. Else you only escape the non-proficiency penalty.

At the end of the day everybody is playing by "House Rules"

Your Answer

 

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you acknowledge that you have read our updated terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy, and that your continued use of the website is subject to these policies.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.