7
\$\begingroup\$

My DM is playing a DMPC along with our party, as well as the standard DM role.

During an encounter, his PC absorbed a gelatinous cube, and is saying that because it was not a true kill, the rest of the party doesn't gain experience, even though we did damage the cube.

Is this in line with the rules, or are we getting screwed by our DM?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 12
    \$\begingroup\$ How did he "absorb" the gelatinous cube? Is this an ability his character has, or what? \$\endgroup\$ – Miniman Jul 24 '15 at 4:21
  • 21
    \$\begingroup\$ In soviet Russia, gelatinous cube absorbs- Oh, wait. Hmm. \$\endgroup\$ – GMJoe Jul 24 '15 at 5:14
  • \$\begingroup\$ Also, did his character gain EXP? \$\endgroup\$ – Miniman Jul 24 '15 at 5:41
  • \$\begingroup\$ How far into the encounter did this happen? Was it almost immediate, and thus the NPC essentially negated the whole encounter, or did this happen after your party had already spent several rounds learning that you don't attack it with blunt weapons? \$\endgroup\$ – Taegost Jul 24 '15 at 14:40
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ I am still waiting for answer to @Miniman's question :D \$\endgroup\$ – AquaAlex Sep 25 '15 at 11:09
33
\$\begingroup\$

DMG p. 260

When adventurers defeat one or more monsters-typically by killing, routing, or capturing them-they divide the total XP value of the monsters evenly among themselves. If the party received substantial assistance from one or more NPCs, count those NPCs as party members when dividing up the XP. (Because the NPCs made the fight easier, individual characters receive fewer XP.)

On the face of it, it appears the "adventurers defeat[ed] one or more monsters". Also, on the face of it the NPC gave "substantial assistance". Therefore according to RAW the XP should be divided the number of PCs + NPCs that gave "substantial assistance" (1) and everyone should get that amount.

With reference to your question:

  1. This is not in line with the rules
  2. You are getting screwed by your DM. I use the term non-pejoratively and do not suggest that this "screwing" involves malice or vindictiveness, it is entirely possible it is from ignorance.

I defer to How should I restrain myself when both playing a character and DMing? as to why DMPC are an insidious evil devised by the Lords of Hell themselves to destroy our hobby.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 17
    \$\begingroup\$ +1 for "DMPC are an insidious evil devised by the Lords of Hell themselves to destroy our hobby." \$\endgroup\$ – KorvinStarmast Jul 24 '15 at 11:26

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.