3
\$\begingroup\$

I'm looking for some help with understanding what options an opponent has when I hit them with my bola.

My ranger has taken the Bola Training [Multiclass Bola] feat, so I can forego damage and choose to immobilize the target, and knock prone on crits. I'm throwing a +1 Distance Bola, so the weapon is magical as well.

When I choose to immobilize an opponent, what are the rules for their escape options:

  • The bola weapon description says "bolas tangle up opponents", but what are gameplay rules for untangling? Action type, skill check?
  • If an opponent chooses to cut the bola, what are the rules for damaging/destroying a magic weapon?
  • What would be a DC to break out of a magic bola?
  • Do any of the rules for escape change when I'm able to also knock them prone?
\$\endgroup\$
4
\$\begingroup\$

First of all, don't ever rely upon the fluff description. That's there just to provide a visual, but the bolas don't entangle, they immobilize, which is a different condition.

The full text for the feat explicitly tells you the durations of the effect: until the end of the target's next turn. There is no way to end the condition earlier, except if a power or feature explicitly ends that condition.

Being knocked prone changes nothing except you're also prone (you can crawl instead of moving and you need a movement action if you want to stand up).

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ I'm embarrassed by the stupidity of somehow overlooking the complete sentence. Thank you. \$\endgroup\$ – yarhouse Aug 2 '15 at 2:17

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.