2
\$\begingroup\$

Creating a nemesis group for my current party. Figured I'd go with a WarForged Fighter, Wood Elf Ranger, and a human blue mage sorcerer at +1 the parties level.

Was going to make the ranger a hunter sub class and noticed the colossus slayer gives this:

When you hit a creature with a weapon attack, the creature takes an extra 1d8 damage if it's below its hit point maximum ( 1/turn ).

I'm going to assume that this includes ranged weapons but thought I would ask just in case.

\$\endgroup\$

1 Answer 1

16
\$\begingroup\$

Yes.

The colossus slayer description uses the general term "weapon", and from the Weapons section in the PHB (page 146), melee and ranged weapons are considered weapons:

Every weapon is classified as either melee or ranged. A melee weapon is used to attack a target within 5 feet of you, whereas a ranged weapon is used to attack a target at a distance.

\$\endgroup\$

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .