14
\$\begingroup\$

For the Lucky feat there is something I need clarified. The feat says (PHB p. 167):

"... Whenever you make an attack roll, an ability check, or a saving throw, you can spend one luck point to roll an additional d20. You can choose to spend one of your luck points after you roll the die, but before the outcome is determined. You choose which of the d20 is used for the attack roll, ability check, or saving throw..."

My DM interprets this as:

  1. Spend 1 luck point to roll a d20
  2. Spend 1 more luck point to replace a d20 roll with the new "lucky roll" if you want... otherwise you have used up only 1 point to roll the d20

I always read it as:

  1. Spend 1 point, roll a d20 for luck. Replace the old roll with no additional cost

What is correct?

\$\endgroup\$
32
\$\begingroup\$

Your DM is wrong.

The ability wouldn't have 3 points if you had to spend 2 to use it once. The confusion in the wording is the second sentence. All it does is clarify when the luck point can be spent.

Example:

You are climbing a mountain and there's a rockslide, the DM says, "Make a DEX save to see if you get knocked off."

You roll a fail on your save. Instead of taking the fail, you can spend a luck point to see if the gods of luck are with you and help you make your save. You roll another D20 as your save, and you choose which of the two you take for your roll.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Thanks a lot for your answer! it would be super helpful to back this up if I could get a sense of your DND experience \$\endgroup\$ – Eckstein3rdfret Aug 10 '15 at 1:10
  • \$\begingroup\$ Original, advanced, 3, 3.5, touched on 4 briefly and really didn't like it, and now I play 5 exclusively. \$\endgroup\$ – Lino Frank Ciaralli Aug 10 '15 at 1:54
16
\$\begingroup\$

Your DM is definitely misinterpreting the rules.

"... Whenever you make an attack roll, an ability check, or a saving throw, you can spend one luck point to roll an additional d20. You can choose to spend one of your luck points after you roll the die, but before the outcome is determined. You choose which of the d20 is used for the attack roll, ability check, or saving throw..."

The first part of the feat, highlighted in bold, tells what happens when you have the feat and you use a luck point. The latter part, highlighted in italics, states when you are able to use a luck point. Which is before your failure has been roleplayed by you and your GM before the results of the roll have been disclosed.

So what this means is that you can immediately use a luck point after rolling a 1 on the d20, roll a second d20, and take the result of the second roll.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Picture is unrelated? \$\endgroup\$ – SevenSidedDie Aug 8 '15 at 18:18
  • \$\begingroup\$ The moral of that episode is that they had to "Misinterpret the rules" which fits in with the heading. \$\endgroup\$ – Sandwich Aug 8 '15 at 18:42
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ To anyone that doesn't get the reference it's a large expanse of noise that is larger than the rest of the answer. You'll notice that images used like this are uncommon on RPG.se. I'm not going to tell you to remove it, but I would advise that the answer would improve by increasing the signal to noise ratio. \$\endgroup\$ – SevenSidedDie Aug 8 '15 at 18:47
  • \$\begingroup\$ Thanks a ton for your reply, it would be helpful if could get a sense of your DND experience to help further establish credibility \$\endgroup\$ – Eckstein3rdfret Aug 10 '15 at 1:13
  • \$\begingroup\$ Most of my roots is in D&D 3.5 and Pathfinder. The Lucky feat was loosely based on the Luck Blade in 3.5. \$\endgroup\$ – Sandwich Aug 10 '15 at 1:44

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.