1
\$\begingroup\$

Lashing flail (Martial Power 2, pg.143):

Whenever you use a flail to hit an enemy with a melee basic attack, you can slide that enemy 1 square.

If an enemy tries to move past me while I have this feat and a flail, and I hit them with my OA and slide them 1 square back the way they came, does it still get the rest of its movement (which could be 4+ squares remaining)?

\$\endgroup\$
5
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, they can continue moving if they have any movement left.

An opportunity action takes place before the target finishes its action. After the opportunity attack, the creature resumes its action. [DDI]

In order to stop moving you need something like a Fighter's Combat Superiority that specifically stops them from moving farther with that action.

An enemy hit by your opportunity attack stops moving, if a move provoked the attack. If the enemy still has actions remaining, it can use them to resume moving. [DDI]

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ If the attack knocked them prone instead of sliding them (with Flail Expertise), would they still be able to crawl (moving half of their remaining movement, rounded down)? \$\endgroup\$ – Zso Aug 12 '15 at 18:05
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @1000thSon That's a different question, and is answered here. But yes, knocking a creature prone mid-movement ends the triggering move action, because "crawl" is a different at-will move action choice than "walk". Similar to the quoted text from Combat Superiority, if the enemy has actions remaining it can use them to crawl. \$\endgroup\$ – webbcode Aug 12 '15 at 18:24

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.