5
\$\begingroup\$

The SRD says potions can be administered by others with a full-round action:

Drinking a potion or using an oil is a standard action. The potion or oil takes effect immediately. Using a potion or oil provokes attacks of opportunity.

[...]

A character can carefully administer a potion to an unconscious creature as a full-round action, trickling the liquid down the creature's throat.

Can my familiar feed me while I'm conscious and in combat? If so, does it require expenditure of effort larger than a free action by the imbiber? Would the imbiber provoke AoOs? Can I get a drinking tumor?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Coincidence: I just used my familiar to feed me a potion and a good berry on two separate turns in 5E. Ravens are smart! \$\endgroup\$ – Premier Bromanov Aug 18 '15 at 2:41
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Is this part of a larger plan to have your pet raven feed you grapes? \$\endgroup\$ – GMJoe Aug 18 '15 at 7:34
  • \$\begingroup\$ @GMJoe No, but I like your hedonistic thinking and skepticism. Here's some meta-XP. \$\endgroup\$ – NiteCyper Aug 18 '15 at 20:23
2
\$\begingroup\$

The limits would ultimately be up to your GM. But consider this:

  • Your familiar has an empathic link to you, would know that you are in danger and need assistance.
  • Your familiar is intelligent and can make its own decisions.
  • Your familiar would be familiar with equipment you have and could know what it is capable of, depending on dialogue with your familiar.
  • Your familiar may need to be physically capable of doing the action for you. For example, a rodent would be more capable of manipulating an object with its hands in order to hold the potion, open the cork, and pour/spill it into your mouth while also prying your mouth open in order to administer it. A snake on the other hand, would have a little difficulty of performing such an act, and would require some very clever roleplaying before your GM "buys off" on the idea.
  • Your familiar would be subject to all rules within combat that you would be. If your familiar provokes an attack of opportunity, then the potion could be a target, since it would be held by the creature provoking the opportunity, under the Damaging Objects rules.
  • If you have the prerequisites to obtain a tumor, then yes you would be able to have one - it would be a little harder to pull off if you are not an Alchemist. If you are unconscious, how would the tumor benefit from a potion in order to administer it to you? If you are conscious, then there shouldn't be too much of a problem.
  • The tumor resembles an animal, not an article of clothing. But ask your GM - he may like the idea and allow you to go along with it.
\$\endgroup\$
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Did you, too, misread conscious as unconscious? \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Aug 18 '15 at 7:21
  • \$\begingroup\$ I don't believe this answers the question as asked - In particular the Action Economy involved and if an AoO is provoked - Would the potion be eligible as a sunder target? \$\endgroup\$ – Nyoze Aug 18 '15 at 7:30
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Nyoze There were many questions asked. Many questions answered. Edited to accomodate Sunder target. \$\endgroup\$ – Ruut Aug 18 '15 at 7:36
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @HeyICanChan Yes... yes I did. \$\endgroup\$ – Ruut Aug 18 '15 at 7:38

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.