3
\$\begingroup\$

I thought the Staff of Defense from the start set should count as an arcane focus, but a few people have disagreed with me. I'm wondering if there's any explicit information out there, because most of what I've found seems to be disagreements.

Preferred answers will include a reference that will hold up in Adventure League games.

\$\endgroup\$
1

1 Answer 1

10
\$\begingroup\$

Does it say in the description: "may be used as an arcane focus"? No? Then no.

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ Actually, there is all of ONE item in the entire DMG that states 'may be used as an arcane focus', and that's a spellbook. Given that it includes an entire raft of wands, staves, and rods intended to help spellcasters, I'd argue that the very failure to specify that ability in any of them implies that they can all be used as arcane foci. Otherwise things like the wand of the war mage make no sense -- 'I cast spells more powerful using this wand, but I have to have a second wand as my arcane focus!' makes no sense. \$\endgroup\$
    – RonLugge
    Commented Aug 30, 2015 at 16:59

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .