2
\$\begingroup\$

I'm trying to understand how using Acrobatics to avoid attacks of opportunity works.

enter image description here

The green dot is the creature that wants to move past its foe without provoking any attacks of opportunity. The red dot is the foe, and the blue dot is the square that the green creature wants to reach. The light-blue area is the foe's threatened area. Both the creature and the foe are medium size.

Considering that:

Assuming every check is successful, how many Acrobatic checks does the creature need to get from the green to the blue square, through the foe at the red square?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Corrections of misapprehensions in the question are sometimes better done in an answer. I would say this is one of those cases, given the resistance to correction via comments evidenced so far here and elsewhere. \$\endgroup\$ – SevenSidedDie Aug 21 '15 at 22:57
1
\$\begingroup\$

One, at +5 DC

The assumption that a separate check is made for each square is incorrect, as indicated by this FAQ entry provided by HeyICanChan. As both that and the Acrobatics table entry indicate, if your move takes you through an enemy's square, you increase the DC by 5, which is the case here.

In addition, it states the following as a special rule for the case of moving through an opponent's space:

If you attempt to move through an enemy’s space and fail the check, you lose the move action and provoke an attack of opportunity.

Thus, if that check was failed, the green dot would stop in square 1 and lose the rest of its move, in addition to provoking an AoO.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ those assumptions are only other people's opinion. Anyway if the third assumption is true, shoudn't the green creature have to make, when it wants to go from square 1 to the red square, 2 different checks: one for leaving a threatened square and another one for entering a foe's square, for a total of 4 checks? \$\endgroup\$ – Oswald Aug 21 '15 at 23:58
  • \$\begingroup\$ Is this ignoring the FAQ? \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Aug 22 '15 at 0:02
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Oswald No. "Move through an enemy's space" is listed as an option on Table: Acrobatics DC's to Move Through Threatened Areas as an alternative to a more general "Move through a threatened area," indicating that it's a different, more specific instance of an attempt to move through a threatened area. \$\endgroup\$ – Michaellogg Aug 22 '15 at 0:04
  • \$\begingroup\$ @HeyICanChan I could have swore I remembered that it was only one check per enemy, I just didn't have a source for it. Thanks for finding that for me. So my answer is useless in a practical sense (i.e. under normal rules), though it still applies with the given assumptions (could be a house rule I guess). \$\endgroup\$ – Michaellogg Aug 22 '15 at 0:08
  • \$\begingroup\$ @HeyICanChan I don't feel right telling someone "the question is wrong," but I suppose I should. XP;; \$\endgroup\$ – Michaellogg Aug 22 '15 at 0:16

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.