Does killing a minion trigger abilities and feats that work when someone bloodies a creature?


Markings of the PredatorDDI
Prerequisite: Goliath, any primal class
Benefit: When you bloody a creature, you gain a +1 bonus to all defenses until the end of your next turn.
Published in Primal Power, page(s) 140.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Thank you for the editing, okeefe, is much clearer and cleaner now. ^_^ \$\endgroup\$ Mar 22, 2011 at 15:52

2 Answers 2



Not only don't minions trigger such effects but neither does any creature that is killed while not previously bloodied.

From the Rules Compendium, pg257:

When an unbloodied creature is killed outright, the creature does not become bloodied in the process. It is just dead. This rule means a minion ... is bloodied only if an attacker reduces the minion to 0 hit points but knocks it unconscious ... instead of killing it.


I would rule this one as a No.

From DDI - Minions: A minion is destroyed when it takes any damage. If a minion is missed by an attack that deals damage on a miss, the minion doesn’t take that damage.

I take this to mean that a minion can not be bloodied in the normal sense, since it either is at full HP or it is dead. A dead opponent is not considered bloodied for rules purposes so, I would rule this one, a no.

As a followup and side note; check out this link on Dying and Bloodied. Since Dying is not dead this group has indicated, and I agree, that a dying character is still considered bloodied. There seems to be a strong distinction between Dead and Dying were bloodied is concerned.

Dungeon masters take note: Creatures with enhanced powers on bloodied character status can still get them with dying characters.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .