13
\$\begingroup\$

In D&D 3.5, one scored a critical threat, and then had to confirm the crit by hitting the monster's armor class again. In D&D 5th edition, it does not explicitly state that crits have to be confirmed (to my knowledge). Thus I have been operating under the assumption that crits do not have to be confirmed. Can anyone provide insight into this matter?

\$\endgroup\$
0

1 Answer 1

28
\$\begingroup\$

Correct, critical hits do not have to be confirmed. Any 20 on an attack die is a critical hit. (Fighters of the Champion archetype eventually score critical hits on rolls of 19, and then 18, also.)

Rolling a 1 or 20 ...If the d20 roll for an attack is a 20, the attack hits regardless of any modifiers or the target's AC. In addition, the attack is a critical hit. (PHB p194)

Critical Hits When you score a critical hit, you get to roll extra dice for the attack's damage.... (PHB p.196)

\$\endgroup\$
0

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .