8
\$\begingroup\$

If my level 14 Evocation wizard were to cast a fireball using a seventh level spell slot, would he be able to maximise the damage with overchannel despite the overchannel feature indicating that the spell must be below 5th level?

When you cast a wizard spell of 5th level or lower that deals damage, you can deal maximum damage with this spell.

\$\endgroup\$
17
\$\begingroup\$

No.

When a spellcaster casts a spell using a slot that is of a higher level for that casting, the spell assumes the higher level for that casting. (PHB. p 201)

Therefore when you do this, the fireball is for all intents and purposes a seventh level spell and is eligible/ineligible for various add-on effects based on that.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ For what it's worth, Jeremy Crawford agrees with this: "[Fireball upcast to 7th level] won't work [with overchannel], since that fireball is 7th level. The level of a spell matches the level of the slot used to cast it (PH, 201)." \$\endgroup\$ – Rubiksmoose Mar 14 '18 at 20:47

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.