3
\$\begingroup\$

If I acquire, for example, an Amulet of Life protection when I'm level 2 when its modifier is +1, does its modifier increase to +2 automatically when I reach level 7, or is that counted as a completely different item which I then have to "refind"? Is the answer the same for all other items and weapons in the game?

\$\endgroup\$
10
\$\begingroup\$

No. If you have a Amulet of Protection +1, it stays an Amulet of Protection +1. You will have to find, buy, or make an Amulet of Protection +2 if you want that instead.

All items work this way. Although there are artifacts (such as the Staff of Fraz-Urb'luu) that can increase their enhancement based on other parameters, they are the exception rather than the norm.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ As a side note, if anyone on your party have the Enchant Magic Item ritual, you can pay only the difference in price between the new and old levels to improve it. You can do that even with a rare tier magic item (that usually can't be created by this ritual). \$\endgroup\$ – Nibelung Aug 29 '15 at 21:44
0
\$\begingroup\$

It is a completely different item that you can upgrade with the appropriate magic ritual (Enchant Magic Item). This happens to all items in the game, maybe except some artifacts that become more powerful as their owner grows.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Would you mind telling me which ritual that is? Enchant Magic Item? \$\endgroup\$ – abv2 Aug 29 '15 at 18:13
  • \$\begingroup\$ @abv2 I think it is called Transfer Enchantment \$\endgroup\$ – diego Aug 29 '15 at 18:26

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.