17
\$\begingroup\$

As a Half-Orc I have Relentless Endurance:

Relentless Endurance When you are reduced to 0 hit points but not killed outright, you can drop to 1 hit point instead. You can't use this feature again until you finish a long rest. (PHB p.42)

While wild-shaped "you retain the benefit of any features from your class, race, or other source and can use them if the new form is capable of doing so." (PHB p.68)

So, as a half-orc druid in wild shape when my temporary/wild-shape hit points drop to zero can I choose then to drop to 1 hit point without ever reverting form? Additionally, what happens to the "carry-over damage" that usually applies to a wild shape taking more damage than its current hit points?


Related: Does the half orc's Savage Attack work when wild shaped?

\$\endgroup\$
25
+100
\$\begingroup\$

Yes you can

The rules for wildshape clearly state that you retain any benefits of features from your race if the new form is capable of using them. Since the Relentless Endurance feature does not implicitly or explicitly require any particular body parts (hands, for example) I see no reason why it should not be retained.

The rule on reverting says you automatically revert if you hit 0 hit points. Since your Relentless Endurance allows you to drop to 1 hp instead of dropping to 0, you never actually drop to zero and thus never revert.

... and there is no carry-over damage

The rule on carry-over damage says:

if you revert as a result of dropping to 0 hit points, any excess damage carries over to your normal form

Since you did not revert or drop to 0 hit points, this rule does not apply.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ @nitsua60 the wording is consistent with the wording of spells like Shield, which says "when you are hit..." but allow you to then insert the effects of the spell before the attack actually hits, potentially turning that hit into a miss. \$\endgroup\$ – PurpleVermont Aug 31 '15 at 21:28
  • \$\begingroup\$ Personally I think the key feature is "if the new form is physically capable of doing so". I think things like, darkvision, speed, dwarven resilience, fey ancestry, trance, mask of the wild, sunlight sensitivity, halfling nimbleness, stout resilience, draconic ancestry, breath weapon, draconic damage resistance, speak with small beasts, tiker (if you have no hands and/or no tools), menacing, relentless endurance, savage attacks, hellish resistance are all physical racial features and thus does not carry over in your wild shape. \$\endgroup\$ – Efraim Siounis Sep 17 '15 at 5:08
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @EfraimSiounis it's a reasonable argument. It's really a gray area to decide which racial benefits rely on having that particular body, and which do not. Relentless endurance could be as much a willpower thing as a physical body thing, by my reading. \$\endgroup\$ – PurpleVermont Sep 17 '15 at 20:56
  • \$\begingroup\$ I've un-accepted (sadly) because July 2016 Sage Advice seems to contradict your reading. \$\endgroup\$ – nitsua60 Jul 19 '16 at 17:11
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @nitsua60 I don't think it contradicts. It says relentless endurance doesn't protect you from a death effect, and that wildshape doesn't save you from a death effect. And it says that Tough doesn't apply to druids in wildshape form. I'm not seeing anything that contradicts this answer though. \$\endgroup\$ – PurpleVermont Jul 19 '16 at 18:23
4
\$\begingroup\$

RAW: Yes

Because Relentless Endurance requires that you hit 0 hitpoints to function, because wildshape has specific rules for hitting 0 hitpoints (meaning you can actually hit 0 in wildshape), and because your race feature still applies, you can use your Relentless Endurance to stay in wildshape once per long rest. This is no different from every other racial ability. So it seems that, while being in wildshape changes your physical attributes, racial features are treated like a mental attribute - like your wisdom, intelligence, and charisma.

\$\endgroup\$
0
\$\begingroup\$

No, per July 2016 Sage Advice, in a roundabout fashion.

In the linked SA Jeremy rules that disintegrating a Half-Orc precludes Relentless Endurance, because

  1. disintegrate drops target to 0HP
  2. the secondary effect--turning to dust--happens now, before any Relentless Endurance comes into play
  3. this is when Relentless Endurance would kick in, but now target's dust.

Reading that sequencing onto OP's situation we would have:

  1. Something drops target to 0HP
  2. the secondary effect--reverting from Wild Shape--happens now, before any Relentless Endurance comes into play
  3. this is when Relentless Endurance would kick in, but now target's not at 0HP.

(This makes me sad, and at my tables I will continue to rule as PurpleVermont suggests.)

\$\endgroup\$
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ The Relentless Endurance feature says "when reduced to 0 hit points but not killed outright" -- disintegrate kills outright when you are reduced to 0 hp by it, which is why neither RE nor being in wildshape prevents you from dying. But I still think that dropping to 0 hp by another means and not being killed outright, so going to 1 instead, prevents a half-orc druid from unshaping. \$\endgroup\$ – PurpleVermont Jul 19 '16 at 18:27
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ PV's answer is still good as the "killed outright" is the outlier case (specific over general) for Disintegrate. My two centavos. \$\endgroup\$ – KorvinStarmast Dec 20 '16 at 15:20
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Sage Advice specifically called out Disintigrate as an exception, not the rule for how Relentless Endurance functions, by my reading. RE would still prevent you from falling below 1 IF you have it and are hit by an attack that isn't a death effect, hence RE's verbage: "...but not killed outright..." \$\endgroup\$ – Ifusaso Dec 23 '16 at 15:10
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ The 2018 PHB errata changed disintegrate so it only disintegrates the target if it leaves the target with 0 HP, and the 2019 Sage Advice Compendium has been updated accordingly. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Jan 30 at 19:31

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.