5
\$\begingroup\$

If I use Hex (PHB p251) on a target and then hit it with all three rays making up Scorching Ray (PHB p273), do I add the extra 1d6 necrotic damage to EACH ray that hits, or do I only add a single 1d6 to the total sum of all rays?

I'm guessing I add it to each ray that hits, but just wanted to check that with someone soberer than I. Thanks :)

\$\endgroup\$
15
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, you'll deal an extra 1d6 with every ray that hits. Hex says that:

You deal an extra 1d6 necrotic damage to the target whenever you hit it with an attack.

And Scorching Ray says that you:

Make a ranged spell attack for each ray. On a hit, the target takes 2d6 fire damage.

Finally, to make it really clear that all 3 rays count as separate attacks, we have the following advice from the Player's Basic Rules:

If there’s ever any question whether something you’re doing counts as an attack, the rule is simple: if you’re making an attack roll, you’re making an attack.

So yes, each ray of Scorching Ray is an individual attack, and they will all trigger Hex separately if they hit the target.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Looks like this answers my question on if Magic Missile procs with Hex. Good to know! \$\endgroup\$ – RoiRoiHe'sOurBoy Sep 17 '18 at 6:02
  • \$\begingroup\$ @RoiRoiHe'sOurBoy Yep, Magic Missile doesn't involve an attack, so it can't proc Hex at all. \$\endgroup\$ – Miniman Sep 17 '18 at 6:36

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.