11
\$\begingroup\$

Let's say my party member is around 30 feet in front of me and engaged with a monster in melee close combat.

If I successfully cast Thorn Whip and pull the monster 10 feet closer to me, will this generate an opportunity attack for my party member who is next to the monster?

\$\endgroup\$

marked as duplicate by Rubiksmoose dnd-5e Apr 21 '18 at 17:53

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ This question was asked 2 years and 7 months ago, so this is not a duplicate. The questiuon Rubiksmoose is refering to was asked yerterday \$\endgroup\$ – Maadiah Apr 21 '18 at 18:14
21
\$\begingroup\$

No, this won't generate opportunity attacks. The rules on opportunity attacks include this clause:

You also don’t provoke an opportunity attack when you teleport or when someone or something moves you without using your movement, action, or reaction.

If a creature doesn't use its own movement, or its own action, it doesn't cause opportunity attacks.

\$\endgroup\$

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.