9
\$\begingroup\$

One of my opponents or allies dropped to 0 hit points. May I willingly end my movement in the square where 'e fell?

Does the answer depend on animosity/alliance?

(If it matters, my motivation is to protect the body of the fallen comrade, or to preserve the body of/evidence on the opponent. We're all medium-sized.)

\$\endgroup\$
16
\$\begingroup\$

Rules

From PHB p. 191

You can move through a nonhostile creature’s space.

Whether a creature is a friend or an enemy, you can’t willingly end your move in its space.

From PHB p. 290

Unconscious

An unconscious creature is incapacitated (see the condition), can’t move or speak, and is unaware of its surroundings

From PHB p. 289

Incapacitated

An incapacitated creature can’t take actions or reactions.

Answer

As an unconscious creature can't take any actions, it clearly can't take hostile actions so qualifies as non-hostile. By the RAW you can move through the space irrespective if the creature is friend or foe.

As this is written, you cannot willingly end your move in an unconscious creature's space. Presumably you could end your move in a dead creature's space as it is no longer a "creature" by virtue of being an ex-creature (possibly even an ex-parrot).

Critique

This interpretation is bloody stupid. All sensible people should play that an incapacitated creature's space can be willingly ended in.

As an aside, how does standing in the creature's space protect it anyway? If I am attacking I can choose to attack you or your unconscious colleague.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ "Protect" in a broad sense. I can Ready an attack for opponents coming near, and can opportunity attack anyone trying to take away the body. Also, +1 because (a) I think you've got RAW right, and (b) This interpretation is bloody stupid. Especially when we consider that most opponents' minis are removed from the board the moment they hit 0hp rather than death-saved, and nobody' tracking the locations of those developing corpses.... \$\endgroup\$ – nitsua60 Sep 7 '15 at 2:38
-1
\$\begingroup\$

The rules Dale pointed out relate to standing creatures in active combat. A Medium-sized creature does not actually take up an entire 5-foot square like the typical battle mat, unless the character really is as large around as they are tall.

The squeezing rules could be applied to 2 Medium-sized creatures taking up the same 5-foot space. (See PHB page 192: Squeezing into a Smaller Space.)

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Do you have anything to back up the assertion that those rules referenced by Dale only apply to standing creatures? As I see it that's the whole crux of the matter--the rules don't seem to be taking notice of a creature standing or prone (in my case, unconscious), when it might make sense to me and Dale that they should be handled differently. \$\endgroup\$ – nitsua60 Sep 7 '15 at 22:15
  • \$\begingroup\$ By RAW you cannot stand in the same square of another creature, but is a corpse even a creature? This is where RAI come into play. Personally I don't consider a medium unconscious/incapacitated creature big enough to force you to squeeze. Think of a couch, if you fight over it I would not impose DISADV just because you are on it. How's the corpse of an orc any different? If you want to walk over it it should be difficult terrain. But does jumping 5 foot even require a check? Unless the corpse is Large or bulky I'd just ignore it in terms of penalties for other combatants passing over it. \$\endgroup\$ – Ghilteras Jul 26 '17 at 15:54

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.