If I cast a multiple-target spell with the (D) quality on my friends, can I dismiss the effect from one target while keeping it active on all the others?

For example: I cast hide from undead on myself and all my friends, then decide I want to have a chat with a vampire without exposing my friends. Can I dismiss the spell from myself but still have my friends be affected? Does the answer change if I want to dismiss it from my friend the bard while keeping myself affected?

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ I asked a follow-up question based on this: rpg.stackexchange.com/questions/68173/… \$\endgroup\$
    – Erik
    Sep 7, 2015 at 6:47
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Erik: That follow-up question might actually provide an argument that, RAW, a spell can be dismissed piecemeal - if you are only 'in range' of one of the targets, perhaps only that effect can be dismissed while the others persist. Further research needed, great questions both. \$\endgroup\$
    – mike32
    Sep 7, 2015 at 8:28

2 Answers 2


Dismissability is a duration note on the whole spell, not on parts of the spell. Dismissing a spell has the same effect as the spell's duration ending — because that's exactly what it is, but triggered voluntarily.

To be able to selectively terminate the effects of a spell affecting multiple targets would require the spell itself to offer that ability in its description.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Would a targeted dispel magic on yourself (or the bard) work? \$\endgroup\$
    – Zano
    Sep 8, 2015 at 7:42
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Zano If you have a related but new question, you can use the Ask Question button to post it, and include a link to this question if it's useful for context. We're not equipped to properly answer questions that appear in the comments. \$\endgroup\$ Sep 8, 2015 at 14:11
  • \$\begingroup\$ Fair enough, after all the OP didn't ask how achieve the effect, only if dismiss would work to that end. \$\endgroup\$
    – Zano
    Sep 8, 2015 at 15:03
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Zano Ah, I see where you're coming from. Yeah, I understood this as a rules clarification question rather than a "how to achieve this" question. \$\endgroup\$ Sep 8, 2015 at 15:26


When you dismiss a spell, you dismiss the whole spell. Not just parts of it. Theoretically speaking, the target of your "dismissal" is the spell, not the effect of the spell on a target.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .