2
\$\begingroup\$

Say I am a high level cleric. I have Flame Strike prepared with Empower metamagic, increasing it's spell slot by 2, resulting in an Empowered Flame Strike sitting in a level 7 spell slot.

I also have a normal metamagic rod of Intensify which affects spells of level 6 and lower.

Can I use my metamagic rod when I cast my Empowered Flame Strike? On one hand the level of the spell is still <6, but on the other the slot it uses is >6.

\$\endgroup\$
3
\$\begingroup\$

Other than Heighten Spell, no metamagic feat changes a spell’s level, only the slot it requires. Thus, empowered flame strike is still a 5th-level spell for the purposes of save DC, passing through globe of invulnerability (well, both a 5th-level and 7th-level spell are equally-good at that, but if you had an empowered fireball it would not bypass lesser globe of invulnerability), and being affected by an intensify metamagic rod.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ So if I used Heighten Spell to increase it to 7th level, then it WOULDN'T be usable with the rod. ok. \$\endgroup\$ – GreySage Sep 10 '15 at 21:25
  • \$\begingroup\$ I am very glad to see this answer as I feared it would be the other way around. \$\endgroup\$ – Fering Sep 16 '16 at 18:57

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.