4
\$\begingroup\$

The wording of the Bred for War trait is as follows:

Bred for War

You tower above most other humans and possess a physique of hard, corded muscle.

Benefit You gain a +1 trait bonus on Intimidate checks and a +1 trait bonus on your CMB because of your great size. You must be at least 6 feet tall. (Emphasis Mine)

Someone on the Pathfinder Society Facebook Group stated they have a Halfling who is 8 feet tall because they used the Adopted Social Trait to select it. I read the trait as requiring you to be six feet or taller to select the trait, not permitting an otherwise Small race to become taller than six feet via its selection.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Incidentally, being 6 foot tall does not make a halfling a medium creature, so even when "towering above most other humans", you make Intimidate checks against them at -4. \$\endgroup\$ – MrLemon Sep 12 '15 at 9:35
10
\$\begingroup\$

You could use the Bred for War racial trait as a member of an adopted species, but that wouldn't give you any sort of benefit if you're less than six feet tall. The Bonus to intimidate is a result of you being unquestionably large.

If you're a halfling adopted by half-orcs you will never be as intimidating as they are because you lack the physical stature the racial trait requires to attain its effect.

By the same token, a Human could use Adopted to get bred for War and be just fine provided they were at least six feet tall. In a way the "six feet tall" requirement is a prerequisite, even if it doesn't seem to be listed as such.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ I think Bred for War is a human trait by default, but thank you. I was pretty sure that you wouldn't be able to automatically be greater than your normal height just for using a trait. \$\endgroup\$ – misterducky Sep 13 '15 at 3:28
4
\$\begingroup\$

The wording is quite lear there. "You must be at least 6 feet tall." means exactly as it is stated. For this trait to work or have any effect you must be at least this "points finger at the 6 feet line" tall.

I would take it as an oversight that it is not put into a separate required part of the document (there are only very few such oversights for such a large number of traits,...).

So if the halfling is somehow over 6 feet tall (or just 6 feet) he can use it by all means (and adopted trait). Else no.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Traits don't have a requirements line, which is probably why it was included in the text instead. Typical requirements are all given by the trait type, including being of a specific race to take a race trait for that race. \$\endgroup\$ – MrLemon Sep 12 '15 at 9:54
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Alternatively, spells often have wording like this, meaning that the effect only occurs if this prerequisite was met, but it is not a prerequisite for the trait itself. \$\endgroup\$ – Mooing Duck Sep 12 '15 at 16:17
  • \$\begingroup\$ This would imply that the trait stops working if you're hit with "Shrink Person", though. I wonder if that's intentional, since you still have the same type of build under those circumstances. \$\endgroup\$ – Erik Sep 12 '15 at 16:52
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Erik: I think that is a correct interpretation. If your character is magically shrunk, they keep the trait but lose the benefit for the duration. Likewise a Halfling with the trait, over 3 foot tall naturally, and under the influence of Enlarge Person could benefit from the the trait bonuses. \$\endgroup\$ – Neil Slater Sep 12 '15 at 16:56

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.