15
\$\begingroup\$

If you have the dual wielder feat, and you are riding a mount can you wield two lances. Also what would the damage dice be?

\$\endgroup\$
21
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, you can.

Also, a lance requires two hands to wield when you aren’t mounted.

So as long as you are mounted, you can use a lance in one hand. The Dual Wielder feat allows you to use two-weapon fighting with any one-handed melee weapon, so this works fine.

As for the damage die, the damage die for the lance is a d12, and there's nothing in its special property or in the dual-wielding rules that would change this.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Though this question is old, it's intriguing. given that lances are actually heavy poles made to look like swords, would you give a disadvantage to defense in this case? given that the mass of the weapons and your lack of upper body stability would make you more prone to be thrown? \$\endgroup\$ – Victor B Mar 9 at 10:07
  • \$\begingroup\$ @VictorB I wouldn't - I'm not a believer in nerfing mundane characters for the sake of "realism". \$\endgroup\$ – Miniman Mar 9 at 10:23
0
\$\begingroup\$

If you were riding a standard horse, as a DM I might have some qualms about you using dual lances. But a paladin with his own Find Steeed horse could telepathically control its movements, therefore I would allow it.

\$\endgroup\$
-7
\$\begingroup\$

Impossible fighting style. I would never allow it even if RAW, it's surely not RAI. Two reasons; first, you need a hand to steer your horse, second, physics. Lances damage comes from impacting a big mass (you and the horse) into a small area (tip of the lance). If you double the area you get ideally two times half of the damage and thereby loose control of your mount so it's absolutely stupid to do so and without any advantage.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to the site! Please take a moment to check out the tour to get an idea of how things work here. Answers on this site are required to answer the question independently, and this is really more of a comment. \$\endgroup\$ – Miniman Sep 19 '15 at 11:23
  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ @matoe I just want to point out that horses trained for combat were often steered with only the knees/legs so that the rider could use both hands for combat activites. (See, for example, Mongolian Horse Archers) \$\endgroup\$ – GreedyRadish Oct 15 '16 at 6:16
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ The physics is also wrong: unless you are sticking both tips in the same location, the pressure effects that allow the lance to pierce are heavily localized and so the second would not measurably affect the first. They would both independently pierce (assuming they struck the target true), and just leave two large holes in them. Realistically this was never done because 1. it’s impossibly hard (but then, see “fantasy heroes”) and 2. it was completely overkill anyway (no target was going to survive being impaled on one lance in the first place). Neither of these is necessarily true in D&D. \$\endgroup\$ – KRyan Nov 1 '18 at 2:15
  • \$\begingroup\$ could you potentially give quotes stating where JC has stated the intention of lance duel wielding on horseback. i cant seem to find any obvious RAI evidence which would be required for a RAI answer as yours clearly claims to be. \$\endgroup\$ – rpgstar Nov 1 '18 at 3:29

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.