4
\$\begingroup\$

I had a question about 'Great Weapon Fighting' as it applied to Paladins, which lead me here: Does Great Weapon Fighting apply to Superiority Die rolls? During my research. While the answer cleared up my original question, I have a follow up question.

First, my question: When rolling for Great Weapon Fighting style as a Paladin, does the differentiation detailed below mean I can continue to re-roll all 1's and 2's until I get a 3 or higher?

Secondly, the differentiation: I noticed there is a variance between the Great Weapon Fighting entry in the Fighter listing on PHB pg 72 :

When you roll a 1 or 2 on a damage die for an attack you make with a melee weapon that you are wielding with two hands, you can re-roll the die and must use the new roll, even if the new roll is a 1 or a 2. The weapon must...

Emphasis on the differentiation from the entry, of the same Great Weapon Fighting style, found in the Paladin listing on PHB pg 84 :

When you roll a 1 or 2 on a damage die for an attack you make with a melee weapon that you are wielding with two hands, you can reroll the die and must use the new roll. [missing] The weapon must...

This particular entry is missing the crucial "even if the new roll is a 1 or a 2." This particular entry says, you may reroll any 1's or 2's and must use the new roll period .

This is more than likely a typo, as some do exist in the version of the PHB I have when it first came out. If anyone has any errata/newer versions of the PHB and can see if the full entry exists under Paladin please let me know in comments or in your answer should you submit one.

\$\endgroup\$
23
\$\begingroup\$

No, you cannot re-roll until you get a 3 or higher.

You can re-roll once. There is no difference in meaning between the two descriptions. The first offers the rule:

you can re-roll the die and must use the new roll

and then offers clarification of the rule:

even if the new roll is a 1 or a 2.

The second offers the rule:

you can reroll the die and must use the new roll.

with no clarification. The clarification is not necessary. The rule is clearly stated in both cases.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ So you must use the new roll, on any re-rolls you make, on 1's and 2's , yes? \$\endgroup\$ – Airatome Sep 16 '15 at 21:30
  • \$\begingroup\$ Sorry, I answered the second part first, and forgot there was a first part. See my answer now :) \$\endgroup\$ – relt Sep 16 '15 at 21:31
  • \$\begingroup\$ Thank you. I'll see what other input there is before deciding but this helps. I'm currently writing a macro for 3d8r<2 which auto re-rolls EVERYTHING that comes up 2 or under on 3d8. I can't seem to find a way to get it to do just 1 re-roll. So needed an interpretation check before I decided to rewrite the whole thing. :D \$\endgroup\$ – Airatome Sep 16 '15 at 21:34
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ If you're using Roll20, 3d8ro<2 will only reroll once per die. \$\endgroup\$ – xanderh Sep 16 '15 at 21:41
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Xanderh I think I <3 you right now. I've spent several days reading over the roll queries and other wiki's on the site I can find, but nothing had a full comprehensive list I was able to find. These new 5E sheets are amazing, so I'm trying to put them to their full work lol. I appreciate it. \$\endgroup\$ – Airatome Sep 16 '15 at 21:49

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.