5
\$\begingroup\$

Although is seems like a no-brainer, I still have to ask :)

Looking at rage powers, it's divided into three categories:

  • General Rage Powers
  • Totem Rage Powers
  • Bloodrage Rage Powers

Just by looking at the rage power page, there is no requirement to have the Bloodrager hybrid class in order to use the Bloodrage Rage Powers.

Can anyone confirm this?

\$\endgroup\$
10
\$\begingroup\$

On the contrary: You have to be a barbarian

Levels in the Bloodrager does not gain any Rage Powers at all.

Blood Rage Powers are a type of Rage Powers that were introduced in the Advanced Class Guide, that allow a Barbarian to mimic some parts of the Bloodline Powers of a Bloodrager. Blood Rage powers are presented in the ACG's Archetype and Class Features chapter, under Barbarian. The text states (emphasis mine):

Any barbarian meeting the prerequisites can take the following new rage powers. Blood rage powers grant powers in a theme. A barbarian cannot select from more than one group of blood rage powers. [...]

The major prerequisite for taking blood rage powers that the character is eligible to take rage powers, which in most cases requires them to be a barbarian (or count as a barbarian for the purpose of rage powers).

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • \$\begingroup\$ Thanks for clearing that up. Does that mean I can't select Lesser Fiend Totem and Lesser Abyssal Blood? \$\endgroup\$
    – Steven
    Sep 17 '15 at 12:56
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Steven You can select both. You are limited to a single type of totem and to a single type of blood, but the two do not affect each other. \$\endgroup\$
    – MrLemon
    Sep 17 '15 at 16:19
2
\$\begingroup\$

In addition to Mr Lemon's information, there is the Primalist archetype for the Bloodrager, that lets you sub out bloodline powers for rage powers at the same rate a Barbarian would gain them. You do lose access to the Extra Rage Power feat, but all-in-all it is a very strong archetype (hence it being disallowed in Pathfinder Society organized play).

Otherwise though, no, you cannot utilize rage powers during a bloodrage.

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • \$\begingroup\$ Thanks. Unfortunately my GM is not using ACG at the moment. \$\endgroup\$
    – Steven
    Sep 17 '15 at 15:46

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.