So I have a Toothy Half-Orc with claws - all primary weapons. In a full round action I can do 1 bite(1d4) and 2 claw(1d6) attacks.

Primary attacks are made using the creature’s full base attack bonus and add the creature’s full Strength bonus on damage rolls.
If a creature has only one type of attack, but has multiple attacks per round, that attack is treated as a primary attack, regardless of its type.

But how many attacks do I get in a standard action? I really can't find anything specific in the description of natural attacks.

Based on the info, I seems that I can do one move action and make 3 x attacks.

Any thoughts anyone?


2 Answers 2


During a given turn in combat, characters generally have access to a standard action, move action, swift action, and many free actions. Using your standard action to attack only gives you 1 attack, even if your base attack bonus or number of natural weapons would give you multiple. To use those multiple attacks, you must use both your standard and move action as a full round attack.


Standard actions are almost always singular attacks; natural weapons are not an exception. The standard-action Attack option simply allows you to make one attack with one weapon; that weapon can be natural or manufactured, but it’s still just one attack.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .