5
\$\begingroup\$

I am looking at taking the Dual Wielding feat, but I am not entirely sure as to how it works specifically.

Dual Wielder
You master fighting with two weapons, gaining the following benefits:

  • You gain a +1 bonus to AC while you are wielding a separate melee weapon in each hand.
  • You can use two-weapon fighting even when the onehanded melee weapons you are wielding aren’t light.
  • You can draw or stow two one-handed weapons when you would normally b e able to draw or stow only one.

Does the second attack require an additional action, or a bonus action, to carry out?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 6
    \$\begingroup\$ As a side note, there is no such thing as a "full attack" in 5e. Assuming that you're coming from 3.5e, you would do well to forget anything you know about types of actions and learn it all fresh. \$\endgroup\$ – Derek Stucki Sep 24 '15 at 14:50
  • \$\begingroup\$ @DerekStucki yes I realise that, hence why I had it in the inverted commas (""). All I was attempting to clarify by using the term was the ability to carry out both weapon attacks in one turn. \$\endgroup\$ – Ben Sep 24 '15 at 22:03
  • \$\begingroup\$ Related/possible duplicate: rpg.stackexchange.com/questions/49685/… \$\endgroup\$ – Adeptus Sep 25 '15 at 0:52
13
\$\begingroup\$

Point two of the Dual Wielder feat refers to the Two-Weapon Fighting section of the PBH found on page 195.

As such, the second attack requires a bonus action, which is provided for in Two-Weapon Fighting.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.